Muddy & High PH Levels

Reaction score
To All,
I could use some of your expert advice. I'm new to the pond world. I have a 1,000 gallon pond fed by a bog pond and 20 foot stream with 5 waterfalls. We installed the bog pond this year to replace the filter box and was amazed by how clear the water stayed all summer with very little maintenance. The bog pond was full of tropical plants all summer and between the plant roots and the 4 feet of pea gravel, it was an excellent filter. I pulled the tropical plants this fall and between the silt stirred from pulling the plants and all of the leaves settling in the bottom of the pond, the water turned brown. When I checked the PH last week it was very high (about 9.0). So, I turned the pump off, emptied over half of the pond, cleaned as many of the leaves out as I could and refilled the pond with fresh water. I treated with Clearity Max and Microbe Lift Sludge Away. I still have brown water and I still have a very high PH level. I am afraid my fish will not be able to survive the 9.0 PH level (I have Orfs, Comets and one Koi).

I'm going to try the pillow stuffing material today and see if the helps clear the water. Any suggestions on how to bring down the PH level. I thought for sure exchanging 500 gallons of water would do it.

Thanks in advance for any advice given!
Tim

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Your high PH might be caused by the pea gravel or other rocks. Take a clean sample of your rocks and cover the rocks with a neutral PH water, then test your sample again in 24 hours.

What was your PH over the summer when all the plants were in the system? You will need to have some form of bio filtration and that will keep the water clear, although it might be tea colored which is normal.

Reaction score
Dr. Dave,