Need to make small pond kid friendly shallow, need advice on several fronts...

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I'm new to ponds. My wife and I bought a beautiful house in Asheville, NC that came with a small round pond that doesn't look like it has been really loved over the years (around 6 foot diameter). It does have a little frog statue on the side which I can plug in that'll pump water from the pond out of his mouth. There were also already a ton of fish (around 30) in the pond. Mostly goldfish, a few very small black almost translucent fish and then a couple big white fish. They're extremely hardy as the people who were renting the house before we bought it said they rarely fed them in the winter but they were all still there (and this winter we had the top of the pond freeze quite a few times). Anyways, the pond is surprisingly around 4 feet deep (the water is generally very murky) with steep slippery sides and I have 3 children under the age of 4, so it's a bit of a death trap. Rather than fill it in and tear out the remains, we wanted to save it. I found another thread on this site from 2011 that mentioned Pea Gravel as a good solution to adding to the bottom of a pond for making it more shallow. Here's my questions:

1. It sounds like the consensus was pea gravel. Do I simply buy a bunch of pea gravel from Lowes/ HD and shovel the gravel into my existing pond?
2. Can a shallower pond support as many fish as I have? What's a depth I should be aiming for that's a good compromise between safety and enough room to have some fish be happy?
3. I'm assuming I should remove my fish before shoveling in the pea gravel. Can I just place them into a few buckets? How long do I need to wait until I can put them back into the water?
4. What about the pump that's going into the frogs mouth. Is it just a tube that I need to search for and pull up before dumping the pea gravel?

Thanks in advance for anyone's insights on this from a total pond newbie!