Newbie from CA

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all! I just purchased a home that has a pond in the backyard. I am a total newbie and have no clue how to maintain this thing. It is made of concrete, appears to be about 2800 gallons, and has about a 5' tall waterfall. The pump seems to work fine, but I'm not sure that it has a filter. My kids have been asking to put some fish in the pond so any help and info is much appreciated! Thanks,
Daniel
20170911_132109.jpg
20170911_132055.jpg
20170911_132047.jpg
20170911_132034.jpg
20170911_132040.jpg

Attachments

• 20170911_132055.jpg
    20170911_132055.jpg
    396.3 KB · Views: 144
  • 20170911_132121.jpg
    20170911_132121.jpg
    229.3 KB · Views: 171

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our group! That large black barrel is your filter, I can see a filter pad on top of it.

Is there a drain towards the bottom of it?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to our group! That large black barrel is your filter, I can see a filter pad on top of it.

Is there a drain towards the bottom of it?
I'm not sure about a drain, I'll have to check when I get home from work. Is this type of filter sufficient to support several fish or should I get a larger one? I was under the impression that was only a UV clarified, and not filter. I've been looking online and have thought about a pressurized filter of some sort.

IPA

Reaction score
63b Chesapeake-Pamlico Lowlands and Tidal Marshes
Hardiness Zone
8a
Country
United States
Welcome. The waterfall container, the barrel as addy1 mentioned, is the biological, and maybe also mechanical filter. The UV filter is attached to it probably needs a new bulb or bulbs depending on the model.