Newbie Questions

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am starting to build my first pond. I have no experience except for what I have read online. The pond is 15'x10'x2-3' roughly. I have the hole dug. I ordered the pond liner from ebay...4 mils 15'x20'. I have yet to get any of the equipment. I have a few books and a video on building ponds on the way.

My qustions are these.....

1. Should I use a biological filter or UV filter. I want clear water, plan on having a few koi and goldfish. Also a few plants.

2. Should there be rocks covering the bottom of the pond?

Thanx.

IMG00120.jpg

IMG00118.jpg

IMG00116.jpg

IMG00113.jpg

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
welcome to the forum, question #1 definately use a biofilter, if you plan on fish. a good bio filter will do the most good for the pond, and if you make it yourself,will cost much less than a store bought and usually be much more efficient,with the right design. u.v clarifiers also serve their purpose well. they should be between the pump and biofilter
the u.v will kill the algea,and the biofilter will feed on it. question #2 it looks nice to have a rock bottom, but not all that long and you'll have to drain the pond annually to clean out the bottom. bad bacteria will flurish in the debris that will accumulate in the rocks. it will become toxic to your fish.

Reaction score
Use both kinds bio and uv. Do not put rocks on the bottom you will soon hate them and will want to remove them. Save yourself the work, Don't do it.

Reaction score
pondlady said:
Use both kinds bio and uv. Do not put rocks on the bottom you will soon hate them and will want to remove them. Save yourself the work, Don't do it.