Newbie pond skimmer questions

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi all,

I'm a complete pond newbie and in the planning stages of designing my back yard water garden (which will be approximately 1200 gallons).

Been researching skimmer filters and have narrowed it down to the either the Little Giant, PondMaster, or Atlantic skimmers. I'm leaning towards the Little Giant unit as it seems there are less complaints regarding walls getting pushed in by the surrounding soil and for the fact the Little Giant skimmers have the mesh cover for the weir to prevent fish from entering.

Couple questions for you knowledgeable experts here. They make three sizes based on GPH rating - 2500, 5000, and 10,000 GPH. Aside from the obvious fact they get bigger in physical size as you go up in model, are there any drawbacks to getting the biggest size I can fit for my pond? Conversely, given the smaller size of my pond, would I see added skimming benefits by getting the larger unit, coupled with a larger/stronger pump? I'm planning on getting a 3500-4000 GPH pump -- running about 25' of piping with a waterfall rise of about 4-5'.

Also, has anyone used skimmers from either of these three brands and if so, would you recommend one over the other -- or neither and recommend something else under $300 USD?

One more question, what size outlet pipe to the waterfall should I run with this setup? i.e. are there pros and cons to going with 2" vs 1.5"?

Thanks in advance!
John

Last edited:

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
If a pond is to house fish then In the pond's design/construction, after the ponds capacity (gallonage) is determined, the most important things to consider are: 1. Flow rate and 2. Biofiltration capacity.