Newbie, Raised Pond and Solar

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Folk

No shouting as complete newbie here.

I am looking at purchasing the Iris Clear View Aquarium (https://www.gardenaquarium.co.uk/product-page/iris-clear-view-garden-aquarium) with two/three fish. I am looking at using solar for pond pump/filtration and the only reason I have started a new thread is that there is always new technologies and it advances every year. The pond will be 114 gallons or 520 litres so I was thinking of this solution https://www.powerbee.co.uk/pond-supplies/all-in-one-pond-pumps/solar-pond-filter-small.html which uses mechanical filtration. Otherwise I am open to new products or maybe solar panel to an invertor and battery but I don't know calculations so any help would be helpful.

Hope you all staying safe.

Best regards

Ray

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Welcome to our forum!

We never shout! JUST TYPE BIG!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Hello and welcome.

That is a cute little set up. Will it be inside or outside?

Was going to ask if you planned to have fish, but saw where you said 2/3. Keep it to smaller fish, goldfish or a smaller native fish — no koi.

I really can’t give advice on pumps/filters — don’t know a lot about various brands. However, do these solar ones store the energy for later use, or do they only run with direct sunlight? It’s important for your pump to run 24/7, especially if that is the only source of water movement. And, I always thought that the U.K. was notorious for not having a lot of sunshine — would a solar system be feasible? Have you considered a filter for bio-filtration as well as mechanical?

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1596580329795.gif
@rmitchell
What a neat little pond!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country