Pond chemistry - nitrite and phosphate spike, new to ponds but not aquatics - talk chemistry to me!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi there!

This is my first time posting on this forum, so please tell me if I'm in the wrong place. This is also a long post - bear with me! I want to really understand what's going on here, so please comment on and critique my thought processes and assumptions.

I work at a hobby farm doing animal care, and they recently started up a koi pond. I've worked professionally with aquatic systems before but only in tanks (saltwater and freshwater, laboratory research and educational displays - up to 2k gallons), so I'm adjusting to the less controlled settings of a pond! I'd really appreciate feedback on my thought process and what is going on here, as well as any advice/suggestions. In places where I'm estimating, it's because I'm not the owner, so I don't always know *exactly* when something was purchased or what it was. I only started helping in pond care recently because more attention has been focused on turning this into a koi pond.

Pond specs:
-Estimating 2.5k gallons
-Pump circulates through to a waterfall
-Filtration = skimmer basket and a filter pad below that/right above the pump. I've been rinsing them weekly, decent amount of muck in the filter pad but not really more than I'd expect. No other filtration, and the line from the pump to the waterfall is buried with no access points that I'm aware of, so I think it'd be hard to add something in-line like a UV filter :/
-Pond is in full sun and we are in Colorado (front range) so it's FULL sun, we have very few cloudy days
-Pond has been running for about a year