Pond Newbie

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone!!

I have been a Saltwater Reef aquarium hobbyist for 25+ years. I never once thought of starting a freshwater tank let alone a pond. But here i am.... hooked and super excited. I am also very into Tropical plants/gardening. The bigger the leaf the better :)

We recently had a pool constructed in my backyard and in the process my sideyard was cleared. My side yard is not very big and my neighbors wall sits in my side yard. I have been racking my brain trying to figure out what to do with it and then 1 day it hit me. I want to build a 6x2x2 all above ground pond. The focal point of the pond will be a waterfall and the plants. I want to include really big leafy Elephant Ears, Grasses & Canna's in the main pond and creeping jenny and moss on the waterfall.

Here comes the issue. I have zero skills with tools lol. The good lord blessed me with many talents but handy work was not one of them. I was thinking of building the frame of the pool out of concrete blocks then covering the outside frame with either a faux finish or wood frame. Pond Liner inside obviously with some type of pre liner to protect the liner.

I plan to add either some goldfish or other small fish like minnows to the pond as well.

So here is my 1st question of what i assume will be many to come.. If i use concrete blocks do i need to cement them together? Or is the framing strong enough to withstand the water pressure pushing out?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Welcome to GPF!

Is this going to be all above ground? Below ground? Half & half? In any case, mortaring your blocks and solid grouting with rebar will get you the most bombproof results, but many have gotten away with a lot less, circumstances depending.

Reaction score
Country
United States
All above ground. Digging here in SoFlo is not fun.. Any links to a how to on how to mortar for ponds?

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins