Salt?

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
this is my first year not salting...but i used 1&1/4 cups per 100 gals outside with plants (plants have adverse reactions to salt at much lower levels than fish). and 2&1/2 cups per 100 gals in the basement pond without plants. if you salt your pond, its very important to remember salt doesnt evaporate so you only add salt at water changes in proportion to the water change amount! do not add salt at water top offs.

Reaction score
I have not tested my salinity and wasn't sure if I was missing something. My water is well water. I would assume there is a natural amount of salt in well water. My plants look great, the fish seem happy. I may add some solar salt as a precautionary measure. If I add half of your suggested, I have to figure there will still be some benefit and little risk of damage. Make sense?

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a
I've read many mixed opinions on this subject. Some say keep some salt in the pond, others say don't so that when you need it you can bump it up to get the fish to produce more slime coat. Many Lily growers will tell you not to add any salt. Again, Mixed opinions as I have kept some salt in my pond (I try and keep a .07-.1% level all year) and have fish, plants and lily's and they all seem to be thriving very well together. I do see better lily growth on lily's I don't have in the pond without salt but that could be lighting and nutrients as well. If you are going to maintain a salt level invest in a salinity meter so you know where you level is. There not that expensive any more and you want to maintain a fairly constant level of under .1% so if you need to dose higher for a infection or parasite problem you have room to add salt to the system.

clm

Reaction score
I've never used salt in my 25 years of pond keeping. Never have needed to and I'm one of those who think it's seriously overused in ponds.

clm

sissy

sissy
Reaction score