So many questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I have recently moved into a new house with a large garden pond, before we moved in we had a grid put on the pond. There are about 12 about 30cm fish in the pond. About 8 are mostly gold with the odd black spot on them, so my first question is are these goldfish or something else. The other fish are black with a light coloured underbelly and fangs (sorry for my basic terms I am very new to all this) any idea what these might be? My final question is the pond seems to have a huge filter and waterfall do these continue to stay on through the winter? Any help anyone could give me would be great. Thank you

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and the ones with the so called fangs are koi .They are called barbels by some people

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Thank you for your quick reply, is it likely the others are just big goldfish?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Could be or could be mixed with something else .Can you get pics .The big one is a koi

Attachments

• 100_8439.JPG
    100_8439.JPG
    133.7 KB · Views: 222
  • 100_8447.JPG
    100_8447.JPG
    139.6 KB · Views: 145
  • 100_8446.JPG
    100_8446.JPG
    128.9 KB · Views: 136
  • pond- shed -video 006.JPG
    pond- shed -video 006.JPG
    167.5 KB · Views: 182
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Because there is a grid on the pond it is quite tricky to get a decent one, they don't tend to feed in the same way as the black ones so difficult to see if they have 'fangs'.
DSC_0367.JPG

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom