Still thinking things through, would appreciate advice

Reaction score
Country
United States
All,

Please have a look at the plans for my Koi pond. I am new to this and after the most physically demanding two weeks of my life, I don’t want to make any dumb mistakes.

Background:

My yard has a slope. In order to create a level surface I dug about 3.5 feet in the back (near the fence). My house was built at a time when contractors sold the good top soil and replaced it with rocks and boulders. It’s surrounded by old oak trees (3” roots). Gluing it all together is a substance that is like clay which my son (a geology student) insists is actually some type of sand common to New England. It’s like hitting an endless rock. I tried using a tiller but it didn’t scratch the surface. No room for a backhoe (or money, either) so it was all done with hand tools.

Frame:

The frame was built using 4 x 6 x 10’ PT lumber. Thick 6” nails bind each timber to the timber below it. Rebar runs through the top to the bottom timber and into the ground. The walls are 2’ tall. The hole slopes down below the walls to a maximum depth of about 2.75 ‘. Using a pond calculator, I think it will hold about 1500 gallons.

I bought enough sand to cover the bottom with 1”. I bought under-layer to put on top of the sand. I bought a 15 x 15’ liner to put on top of that. Someone suggested that it might be too small and I may have to upgrade to a bigger liner. Store said it was OK.

Since I started from scratch, putting in a BD is not much effort at this point. I like the idea of a gravity BD. Please see my diagram.

I am going to make the tanks from the same 4x6 PT lumber (I had extra). I will line the tanks. If this is a bad idea, I could put Rubber made (or similar) pre-made containers in the structures (which are 3x3’) but lining them is the cheapest way to go. I don’t know what type of filtering material to put in the settling tank, as I have not gotten that far yet.