Water Lilies

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a complete newb to garden ponds, so please be gentle :)

I've been building a small fish pond these past few weeks and now am gradually introducing some plants:

Bought a water lilly at the weekend, which had a recommended planting depth of 12-36 inches.

On the internet I've read that people think lilies seem to do well at a deeper depth.

Though I'm a bit worried planting them deep as the pads are totally submerged.

At the moment its at about 15 inchs with half the pads at the surface, though ideally id like it to go down to 2 feet

My pond is a max depth of 3 foot, with shelves at 1 and 2 foot deep, i can also use some bricks to adjust the planting depth.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
I'm a noob too. Just built my 400+ gallon pond this spring. Got 3 lillies and set them on shelves 12" & 18" deep. They're all doing great. From what I've heard, the pads will rise up to the surface, so you should be able to place them lower if you'd like. Here's some photos of mine. The ones on the right are 12" down & the left one is 18" down. There's many more pads now as these photos are a month old. The pads from the left and right now merge. I love the look and the fish love the cover and spend the day weaving in and out of them.

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply.

I might lower mine a little bit then, they look healthy at the current depth though i'm a bit concious of cluttering my pond up with bricks, would rather they sat on the shelf i built for them.

Yours are looking very nice, i'm impressed with the flower, i hope mine flourish as much as that!

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Curious_George said:
Hi

I'm a complete newb to garden ponds, so please be gentle :)

I've been building a small fish pond these past few weeks and now am gradually introducing some plants:

Bought a water lilly at the weekend, which had a recommended planting depth of 12-36 inches.