Where do I start?

Reaction score
I've been begging my husband and sons for a pond for 35 years, I came home the other day to find a whole dug for my dream pond, my first questions is would I be better off starting off with a pond kits since I wasn't prepared for this surprise or am I better off buying everything on its own? I know I need a 20' x 32' liner but would like info on what pump or filter would be recomended for a rather small budget, I've been collecting rock for over 30 years so the landscaping will only take manual labor. Thank you.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and they charge you 2 or 3 times more for kits .Home depot and lowes sell pond liners cheap and pumps well that will depend on how much you want to spend and filter build it your self you tube has great video's of pond builds and filters .You could get one local saves the headache if something is wrong with it and not having to mail it back .If you google pond places you should be able to find local places .I know that fish place is in PA and not sure how far from you they are .They have an online store .I have bought from them .

Reaction score
Many people start by digging the hole, adding stuff, and there in the next few years after problems start to research and learn about ponds. IMO it's better the other way around...first learn about the different kinds of pond, decide what kind of pond you want, learn about how that kind of pond is built, pros and cons of different methods. Then you'll know what equipment you'll want and can build the pond to fit the equipment and your goals.

I agree with Sissy, kits are sold to people who skipped the research and learning phase and just want a pond this weekend. Gets you a quick pond and the potential for problems.

Since I know zero about your desired pond I can't really recommend pumps, filters and such. Sorry.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States