ADVICE -- PLUMBING SKIPPY-RUBBERMAID & "PARTS" LIST

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Almost ready to think about turning my 100 gal. stock tank into a bio-filter :) Right now, it's a holding tank for some plants I'll be starting with, a few goldfish, and hopefully a little bit of starter-bacteria.

Have read just about every post here as well as other sites regarding plumbing a "Skippy." As you would expect, there are differences in how to do this. Since this is my first time (no past experiences to draw from), thought I would get some "parts" lists from everyone.

If you have or have had a RUBBERMAID-SKIPPY, would you comment on each area: what did you use, why did you do it the way you did, what worked, what would you change? What SIZE for everything? BUT MOST IMPORTANT FOR ME TO KNOW IS THE "WHY."

The pump I have is a 3600 gph (from HOME DEPOT), and I'm using 1-1/2 inch tubing. Tubing is flex, corrugated. Pond is estimated to be 2800 - 3200 gals. Will eventually use the filter discharge as my waterfall, but for now it's just going to be pond-side.

Also, have seen much mentioned that certain "parts" or fittings should or should not be used. For example, "don't use the HOME DEPOT this or that," or "use the gray this or that," etc. Help me be sure I know what to buy.

WHAT TO DO FOR:

1 -- Stock tank bottom/clean-out drain & spigot, tubing, on/off valve

2 -- spray-bar

3 -- intake: size, placement (how far from the bottom)

4 -- output: size, placement (how far from the top)

5 -- adhesives, sealants, when to use, where, what kind

6 -- connectors, "Y's," diverter valves

7 -- can't think of anything else off the top of my head, but sure questions will come up -- do you have any additional input? I think we have hole-saw bits, but it not, can get them.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score