Awesome sight in pond yesterday

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Hi Guys
When I say awesome sight it probably would be a nightmare for most but its very exciting to me. I have a pond about 3000 to 3500 gallons. Eco style. 15 or so Koi and I put about 30 bullfrog tadpoles in that have now become frogs. Hyacinth's lilies and other plants. I'm a newbie to the pond life. I designed the shape and depth and background of the pond and had it built last October. I had some issues and doubts that the good people on this site helped me out with tremendously. Anyway I posted a few weeks ago that everything was settled down and pond is clear and plants are growing and fish are happy. Very happy with my pond. My goal was to have it be and look as natural as possible. I live on Long Island in a suburban neighborhood where everyone has a 70x100 plot and are all right next to each other. Yesterday I'm kneeling at the waters edge next to the bog area which is covered in hyacinth's when suddenly I here a frog croaking within a foot of me. Now I know a lot about reptiles and amphibians to know that a frog in that close proximity to a potential threat (me) would not give up his hiding spot. When I looked in the hyacinth's I saw a large garter snake had caught the frog. He then came up onto the rock next to me and began to eat the frog. Myself and my wife could not believe what we were seeing. It then went back into the hyacinth's and devoured the frog. Im guessing most of you reading this would be upset with this scene but for me it was very gratifying. I'm a amateur herpetologist. I had a business breeding exotic Australian and other pythons for 30 years. I love all things cold blooded. What I really loved about this is I have not seen a snake of any kind in my neighborhood since I moved here 18 years ago. To see the natural predator prey interaction in my backyard was incredible to me. I don't know where or how this snake found my pond but I'm glad he did. He c