Bought a new house...have a pond with koi and need some help.

Reaction score
So the last owner left their koi in the pond when they moved out. (I'm related to the seller). She moved over seas and is not available for help. The pond is concrete with a sprayed on black liner. There is no drain system installed from what I can see either.

I have no experience with garden ponds but I do have around 4 years of experience with indoor aquariums. Still; my knowledge is limited to freshwater aquariums and I admit I'm not sure what should be done about this pond.

The first thing I did was pull out my water testing kit and make sure the water is good. It is. A bit on the hard side but all in all good. Taking some quick measurements that pond seems to be around 987 US gallons. It's inner measurements: 17 feet long, 3'11" wide and ONLY 2'5" deep. Is the depth okay? Most ponds should be like 4 feet deep shouldn't they? Living in southern California means I can get away with a shallower pond maybe? At this depth though I'm concerned about big birds....like the crane that seems to hang out from time to time. So I figure I should net the top of the pond now too.

So looking at the pond it seems somewhat neglected to me. Lots of leaves resting at the bottom of the pond and a ton of green stringy algae on all the side walls. I know algae can be good but I wonder if this is too much. It's quite long. Should this be removed? By hand? By chemical?

There's a couple of plants in there as well. one looks like a Lilly type plant but it looks mostly dead. The other is...well I don't even know. It looks like its doing okay but could be better. Should I be adding plat food to this pond? I had live plants in my indoor aquarium and I had to add nutrients to the water every so often. Should I do the same now?