Can you help me understand bottom drains?

shanezam203

Rookie
Reaction score
I am planning my 2nd pond and researching bottom drains, can anyone help me understand drains? I am building a 16x16 foot pond L shaped pond with 8 foot Legs.

Drains are to be installed at the Lowest point in the pond right, I should slope all other areas to direct debris and water towards the drain right? Are 2 inch drains common?

Does a bottom drain Need a Pump? If so it is the drain, to a 2" flexible PVC pipe that connects to a pump inlet and the outlet goes to filtration and back in the waterfall?

Thank you,

Shane

ididntdoit99

ididntdoit99
Reaction score
Im no expert, I'm sure somebody will chime in to correct me, but you will need some sort of filter or settlement chamber between the drain and the inlet of the pump, so you are not clogging the pump with everything you suck into the bottom drain.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
yep good way to suck up baby fish and snails and taddies ,not sure i would ever want one

shanezam203

Rookie
Reaction score
Im no expert, I'm sure somebody will chime in to correct me, but you will need some sort of filter or settlement chamber between the drain and the inlet of the pump, so you are not clogging the pump with everything you suck into the bottom drain.
Does that filter or cage sit in the pond over the drain or more so before the pump?

Don't some drains have traps to prevent larger things going into drain/ pvc?

566181-400.jpg

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
larger yes but taddies and baby fish can be small .My pump even sucked one into my filter last year and it ended up on top of the filter media and out of the water and died

shanezam203

Rookie
Reaction score
So do some of you not suggest bottom drains? I am just trying to learn more about them.