Canna Lillies grow in water?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I have been reading about Canna Lillies and saw that they can grow in water. My question is what type of materials would I need to purchase to accomplish this. I'm getting ready to buy some pond plant baskets, planting media and grow tablets online.

What size container for Canna Lily?
How deep in the water can they go?
Can I plant them in a plant basket with pea gravel or use aquatic planting media?
Is there a good website you all use to purchase your materials from? These baskets can get expensive if you find them locally which they are actually hard to find in Ohio.

I'm somewhat new to plants in the pond as we've only ever had Water Lillies, Water Hyacinth, Water Lettuce and Parrots Feather (which the fish tear up and never really does very well). We just removed a big tree that was dieing and provided some shade during the day and now the pond will have full sun so I'd like to add some variety to our plants and really made the pond stand out more.

Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Also what do you suggest in regards to parrots feather? I can never seem to get this do well in our pond.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
kitty litter and crushed oyster shells is what i use for my elephant ears and cannas .But did not plant them in my pond last year because I read they are toxic to fish

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Can anyone confirm that Cannas are toxic to fish? Since I'm new to wanting to plant them in my pond I need to be sure.

Thank you shakaho...I forgot that lava rock would be an option too.

Reaction score
Instead of a just making a smartass remark, I should explain. Toxic plants include any that produce negative effects, even very mild ones. Here is one of the few sources that actually distinguishes between levels of toxicity. This site also includes safe plants, and canna is one of them.