Cleaner water because fountain clogged up


Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Hereford
We have a beautiful copper tree that is a fountain and its pipes get clogged easily.
I have bought a UV filter but a) it is difficult to know if it is still working without dismantling it, and b) its obviously not doing what I need anyway, even if it is working.
Very small pond, 300cm diameter, 20cm deep, approx 2000 litres I think.
Although we get newts and visiting frogs and toads I’d like it clean enough to go through the fountain.
Should I be looking at an actual filtration system - like a box of sand, perhaps?
It sits in the middle of a gravel surface.
 

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
copper could be reacting to water also .What watt is the uv and how old is the bulb.They may look like they are working but may not be
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
7,109
Reaction score
7,979
Location
Northern IL
It sounds lovely! Post some photos if you get a chance.

And yes, I'd say a filter is the way to go - but I wouldn't recommend a box of sand. I'd suggest a prefilter on your pump. Again - a photo would help with suggestions!
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2012
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Location
Hereford
F000BA4B-725D-465B-A4C2-2F797F631C8A.jpeg 42AAF9A3-F7AF-428D-A37F-792E572C5EA5.jpeg
Herewith a photo of the pond, and another of the UV thing. A prefilter. Will Google it.
Ah-ha! Youtube’d it.
Perhaps not a bucket of sand but some white stuff wrapped round the pump?
 
Last edited:

sissy

sissy
Joined
Jan 17, 2011
Messages
31,605
Reaction score
14,574
Location
Axton virginia
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
do not wrap quilt batting or anything around the pump it will be drawn into the pump and clog it up and possibly burn it out ,.You can stack a crate on top of a crate and put hose into it and quilt batting .I use furnace filter on top of quilt batting to pick up the heavy stuff .Not sure what you can get where you are at
100_4179.JPG
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top