Complete novice who jumped the gun!

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi and I'm SO glad to have found you...:arghh: I've done everything imaginably wrong so far from adding small koi to regular tap water and reading about all of this only AFTER the poor little creatures had been bought and dumped into the water.:facepalm: My sweet yet doubtful husband tried to warn me that I needed to do a little research but I just wanted him to dig the hole and not chime in as I had this! As he's wisely done throughout our marriage, he does whatever I've requested of him, shakes his head and lets me hang myself. What can I say other than I was overly enthusiastic, love all living creatures and ignorance is such beautiful bliss. After all, how hard could it be? I'd won goldfish at carnivals as a kid, brought them home in a baggy, dumped them in a bowl and occasionally fed them and refreshed their water. They'd live for quite some time, or so it seemed so in my little girls mind. They'd eventually die, we'd have a fishy funeral and that would be that. I'm finding out my youthful method of fish husbandry is in sharp contrast to the actual care of koi in a pond. This whole pond thing has become quite overwhelming,:unsure: extremely confusing(n) and frankly reminds me in many ways dreaded high school chemistry, a class I barely skidded by in with a C-.:meh: I ready to earn an A+ in middle aged pond science however, and that's where (I hope) you guys come in!:finger:.
I'm sure you can see exactly where this is going and can anticipate the myriad of rookie questions I'm sure to ask in the coming days/weeks/months. I've already killed two fish and want, more than anything for the mayhem to end now!:arghh: (Poor little fish...I'm so sorry.) I only ask one thing of you. PLEASE be gentle and keep the following in mind when you read my posts:
:angelic:"Forgive her, Lord for she knows not what she has done" .:angelic:
AND...
impulsive.jpg

((THE FOLLOWING IS WHERE I'M AT NOW .)))