Extension cord or not?

Reaction score
Hi,

I am planning to put in a small pond 140 gallon close to my patio that has a GFI outlet. The pond is located about 20 ft from the outlet. The pump comes with a 16 foot cord, which means that I am still 4 ft short from the outlet.
What are my options? I have a couple of small kids and do not want any risks.
I cannot move the pond any closer. Can I use a extension cord in this case? what are the risks?

thanks,
xman

Reaction score
DrDave,

Sorry, I am not too savvy electrically. Is this something that I can buy at home depot? Does the end of the conduit plug into the existing outlet? or do I have to run some wire from the existing outlet to the junction box? Will the conduit have to be buried?

thanks,
xman

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to ponding also, but I installed an underground 110 four GFI outlet next to my filtration reservor. It runs to my garage that has it's own 15 amp breaker. If I have to work on anything around or in the pond, I simply turn off the breaker. Trust me, it's worth the expense.:banana:

oldmarine

Married 32 years
Reaction score
Oh,

I forgot something. The electrical source to my pond is now all out of sight with no ungly cords visible. Over the weather proof four outlet box is a fake PVC rock that is approx. 12"x8"x6", and it helps make the pond area look much more natural. :banana:

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Old marine is right. If you can't afford to have it done and don't know how, there are plenty of web sites with photos on how to do these things. you just have to Google them. It is very simple and anyone can do it. Shut off the electricity before making the final connection to the live circuit.

I taught my 10 year old how to do it 30 years ago and he has used this knowlege many times since.

Reaction score