Something is chewing on my pump electric cord?

azlavender

Backyard Natural Pond Newbie
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9b
Country
United States
Hi Everyone,

I am a total newbie on garden pond. Have been a proud natural pond owner for a month now.

Today, I discovered something strange on my pump electric cord that is laying under the water.

I have been using the FP-1750 ProEco Filter Pump for about a month now with happy results.

However, I discovered these strange wear marks on my pump electric cord, it is not located where there could be any abrasion, so I am curious is this is due to UV ray damage, which is strange for just one month, or if there is any other cause that you are aware of from previous experience.

Can it be the fishes or snails are chewing through the rubber? I was expecting this type of product to be able to withstand any pond condition… please help.

Please review the photos attached of the electric cord in question. Thank you all in advance.

2015-10-21%2009.39.12.jpg

2015-10-21%2009.39.20.jpg

Marshall

Turtle Keeper + CPL(H)
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 7b
Country
United States
that looks more like aging... You may have bought the pump a month ago but that does not say when it was made... Looks like a shock hazard to me

HARO

Pondcrastinator
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5b
Country
Canada
Some electrical cords have a very thin plastic coating over the rubber to protect it. It looks like this is cracking, since there are no signs of chewing, such as teeth marks. And unless you have a pond full of piranhas, you shouldn't have a problem! :D
John

Marshall

Turtle Keeper + CPL(H)
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
Zone 7b
Country
United States
Some electrical cords have a very thin plastic coating over the rubber to protect it. It looks like this is cracking, since there are no signs of chewing, such as teeth marks. And unless you have a pond full of piranhas, you shouldn't have a problem! :D
John