Filter ?

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone
I am new to having a pond, I just moved into a house that already has one and have been doing some work to it .. looks pretty good but there is a little bit of algae on the bottom and sides and would like it a bit clearer so u can see fish easier, I have a pump with small filter, I was considering making one ? Has anyone done this and does it work well ? This is a small pond only 1200litres and has 8 small goldfish

Reaction score
Country
United States
Before you make a filter. Which you can. It’s your pond do what you want.
But what I would check first. Is if there are leaves a stuff in the pond. Leaves and stuff have tannins in them which can turn the water into tea. It can make the water really dark kinda black.
Check that first.

my other question is what kind of filter do you have now?
Can you add remove and clean filter pads/media?

Jhn

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Do you have pics of the pond? Makes it easier to help. Is the pond murky because of green free floating algae or muddy water.

A little bit of algae on the sides and bottom is a good thing. Helps maintain water quality and the base of the ponds food web.

Proper circulation (roughly 2x pond volume per hour) and more plants to consume the nutrients will get rid of the green water. Making sure there is no runoff going into the pond, not letting leaves and plant matter settle and decay at the bottom will also help with murky water.

Reaction score
Country
United States