First year and failing miserably!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Help!! My koi are dying. This is my first year of going through a winter with my koi pond and I've lost two in the past two days. I've tested the water every few hours and everything is perfect. I'm assuming it's a temperature issue but not sure what to do about it. I live in central North Carolina and the weather has been fluctuating like crazy this past week. The water temperature was 41° on Tuesday and then our outdoor temperature is 75° today so my water temp is up to 62. I know they aren't supposed to handle such drastic changes in temperature. The pond is pretty small ~1000 gal but 3 feet deep which was recommended. That's definitely not doing enough to keep the temperatures from fluctuating so much. I can add a heater and keep the temperature warm all winter so there's less fluctuation but is there anything that I can do to help the ones that are in there now? They seem to be struggling like they are in shock- not swimming much and just hovering near the surface of the water allowing the current from the waterfall to push them around much more than normal.

It may be something other than temperature but the koi look fine and don't have any signs of disease that I can see.

Any ideas would be much appreciated!

Last edited:
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Make that 3 dead in two days... just got home from work and found another one floating.

Meyer Jordan

Tadpole
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
9a
Country
United States
Where exactly are you located?
Photos of your pond may help.
At what depth are you checking the temperature? Please post the numeric results of those parameters that you have tested.
And most importantly, how many Koi did you originally have and what sizes?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
Raleigh NC