Hello from San Luis Obispo, CA

Reaction score
Hi my names Eric and I'm from San Luis Obispo, CA.

I have been ponding for about 7 years now and it all started when my parents decided to build a cinder block retaining wall to block out the noise of the neighbors pool pump. However a six ft tall and 8 ft long retaining wall looks ridiculous just standing by itself. So my parents asked me if I would be interested in digging a pond with a waterfall coming out of the wall to help block off the noise (Don't worry the wall has fancy stone on it now and looks great :) haha). In no time at all I dug a 8 ft long, 3 ft wide, and 6 ft deep hole. My goal was to make a 900 gallon pond. However they filled in the hole to only 3 ft. and the pond dimensions shrank so it was only 350 gallons. So all in all I was happy to make a pond but my quest for making a large pond had just begun.

Then to make a long story short I was allowed to dig a small turtle pond of 100 gallons. Soon I just turned my 350 gallon pond into a turtle pond and was allowed to enlarge the turtle pond. My goal was a 1,000 gallon pond. However in the middle of digging I was forced to stop by my parents once again. The pond is 8 ft long, 4 ft wide, and 2 ft deep with a small shelf adding to the volume. So this time my pond was about half the volume of my vision, at only around 500 gallons. Although I learned from my mistakes in the previous pond and I thoroughly enjoyed this pond, for a while..... :)