Hey I'm new here!!!

ElijahTurtle

Pond n00b
Reaction score
Well I don't have a pond to show yet...
My wife & I just bought our first house & I have been dreaming about a Garden pond in the back yard since we started looking for houses back in April. I've been keeping planted aquariums for about 5 years now & I want to step it up a notch in the yard with a pond. Being in the DFW metroplex, its the perfect climate for a year round pond.
I have a nice sunny spot picked out in the corner of the yard & plan on building a 800 gallon pond, maybe more maybe less.
Right now it's just a rough idea in my head. I've got a rough sketch done in MSpaint of the shape & rough estimate on size & depth I can post so I can get some critiques, input & advice on it.

pond.jpg

Reaction score
Couple of things,

Is the "Box" in the pond a pump? If it is, I would avoid having a pump in the pond. Reason is simple, If your plumbing gets a leak, the pump will pump your pond dry. I had this happen to me a couple of times, mostly due to a clogged fountain head.

Since you are starting from scratch, you could easily add a DIY bottom drain, which is piped into a settling chamber. You put the pump in the settling chamber, a few inches from the top of your waterline. The pump will draw the water through the bottom drain, and the muck and other particles will settle to the bottom of the settling chamber. This makes cleaning your pond very simple. I made my bottom drain and boot for under $20, the most expensive parts were the 4" pvc pipe. All a settling chamber is, is another square pond. A 2.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 would be a decent size, so it doesn't take that much room. I just used my old pond liner for mine.

From my settling chamber my pump pumps the water through my DIY skippy filter, which doubles at my waterfalls. I used a stock tank for mine, as they are thick plastic. You could use a 55 gallon drum. There are plans in this forum on how to do that.