Hi, I'm new to this, I built a pond on a mountain in wales,

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Our pond is some distance from the house with no power source so we use solar powered aerators and pump to circulate the water, there are 3 swan muscles in the pond which do a marvelous job of keeping it clean. I lost two big fish this week in a really hot spell, pond now has 2 Shobumpkins, which have bred well this year,1 golden carp, 1 koi.
They have been on the top of the water gulping air for a few days, I tested the water and it's perfect. We have two solar powered aerators which work well in direct sunlight, which we've had plenty of. I researched the problem on the internet and someone suggested taking out a lot of the pond weed in August. Done that but fish not eating food, just gulping air still. These are not big fish, even the very small new fry are on top of the water. Any suggestions?

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6 A
Country
United States
it sounds like they need more oxygen , especially if the weather has been hot. You say the pond is some distance from the house, is there anyway you can run extension cords to the pond?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Welcome to the forum! Wow, Wales!! I love Wales. Spent a wonderful week there canoeing and camping.
I agree with Tula, sounds like your fish are gasping for air. How big and deep is the pond? The pond's water might look clear and clean but the quality could be lacking. Do you have a test kit to learn the water parameters? One thing that really caught my attention is the Swan mussels. They are filter feeders and can clean the water to such a point where they starve, die and foul the water. Looking forward to hearing more about your pond and helping.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1597435017006.gif
@Rhonddaponda