Homicidal Fish! Help!

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! I'm a newbie and could use some advice! I have an 830 gallon pond with 4 koi, 2 orange goldfish, and 1 shebunkin. All 3 goldfish were added at the same time, there were actually 4 but they killed one. Hence the problem. The fish gathered up until they killed one other one, and now they are doing it again. I thought maybe they weren't getting enough food, so after the first fish died I added extra feedings. Everything was fine for 1 day, then this morning I realized they were trying to kill another one of the goldfish. Any ideas as to why or how to make them stop???

Thanks so much!!!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
Howdyfish.gif
CraftyZoo
I'm wondering if they aren't trying to spawn. The males will run a female fish ragged and sometimes she will be injured and die in the battle. If that is so make sure she has a place to hide from the males like floating plant roots or a little cave or? I've never heard of fish trying to kill each other just for the killing! Stranger things have happened so I suppose it's possible. Which fish are doing the attacks...........koi or goldfish or all?

Reaction score
It's the goldfish attacking the other goldfish, but the others will jump on board and pick on the one being attacked. Not always, but sometimes. They've calmed down quite a bit now. No longer chasing. I scared the attacker away and made a place for the attack-ee to hid behind a net for a while. Poor thing was so exhausted it just stayed there for an hour or so. I'm new to this, so I was concerned that I wasn't feeding enough.

Also, any suggestions for getting/keeping out algae? I don't have a liner or any substrate in my pond (we just bought a house and inherited it) so it's a cement pond. The bottom looks gross, despite constant cleaning!

Thanks!

Reaction score