How do I set up a pond waterfall and a water fountain?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to making a Koi pond I need some advice on how to set one up with waterfall and a water fountain and some plants. Second question how many fish should I have in a pond? I have 7 koi and 1 goldfish 2 plecos right now in an aquarium.

Mmathis

TurtleMommy
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
  • How much planning have you done so far?
  • How big will your pond be?
  • And where do you live?
  • When are you planning to have the pond completed (7 koi in an aquarium sounds pretty crowded)?

Koi need a lot of room. The usual recommendation is 1000 gallons for 1 koi — and maybe 500 gallons for each additional koi. Koi and goldfish grow fast — and produce a lot of waste which means you’re going to need a good filtration system.

Reaction score
Country
United States
How to set one up with a waterfall and water fountain? To put the water in the pond using Well water do I treat it as if it's an aquarium using Easy Balance and Aqua Safe or how do I go about doing the water or leave it just plain for Well water? I currently have 7 Koi fish and 1 goldfish and 2 plecos in a tank at the moment and my Koi are out growing the tank so I need to set up a pond as soon as I can. Any advice is appreciated!

Reaction score
Country
United States
I plan on making a pond this summer 1000 gallons and I have a image of a drawing my man did and measurements, I live in Illinois. I'm hoping to get it done this summer as soon as I can.

• How much planning have you done so far?
  • How big will your pond be?
  • And where do you live?
  • When are you planning to have the pond completed (7 koi in an aquarium sounds pretty crowded)?
Koi need a lot of room. The usual recommendation is 1000 gallons for 1 koi — and maybe 500 gallons for each additional koi. Koi and goldfish grow fast — and produce a lot of waste which means you’re going to need a good filtration system.

Attachments