Keeping hole open in the ice zone 5

Discussion in 'Newbies to Garden Ponds' started by newday3000, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. newday3000

    newday3000

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    I found someone in my zone who uses a pump aimed at the surface to keep a hole open in the ice and they said works in our winter (easily get 6" of ice). I plan on using a Aquaclear 50 pump 12 watts and see how this goes. Anyone else ever tried this?
     
    newday3000, Sep 12, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. newday3000

    koikeepr

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    North Carolina
    is that an air pump or a water pump? I don't recognize the brand, so can't answer directly. But I do use an air pump with an air stone disc all winter (am in zone 6). Even if the top freezes over, it keeps a 6 inch hole open to allow for gas exhchange. It works 24/7 all year and I've never had a problem.
     
    koikeepr, Sep 12, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. newday3000

    newday3000

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    It's a power head for aquariums. same idea as air pump in that it keeps the water moving in one spot to prevent ice from forming. I think airpump would use less watts. could try that as well and compare.
     
    newday3000, Sep 12, 2009
    #3
  4. newday3000

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Likes Received:
    6,338
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    air pumps are a tried tested, and proven way to keep a hole in the ice..you simply hang them 1/2 way down the depth of your pond... as far as water pumps, Skippy's site reccomends a small statuary pump in a container full of zeolite pumping a slow circulation at the bottom of the pond to help with ammonia content thru the winter months. and zeolite does do a fantastic job of absorbing ammonia...they have plans for building one on their site...
     
    koiguy1969, Sep 12, 2009
    #4
  5. newday3000

    poodles-ponds and gardens

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northwestern Ohio, USA
    I already have plans for making that for my pond. Instead of a tool box, I'm going to use two pans that I got at the dollar store (kitty litter pans) and clamshell them like I did my prefilter.
     
    poodles-ponds and gardens, Sep 12, 2009
    #5
  6. newday3000

    koiguy1969 GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    10,569
    Likes Received:
    6,338
    Location:
    Michigan zone 5b
    i would use one too if my fish didnt winter in the basement pond... come spring soak the zeolite in a strong saltwater solution overnite and rinse and its as good as new..making it a one time purchase.
     
    koiguy1969, Sep 12, 2009
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.