Liner thickness?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone! I am new to this forum but I am just beginning my new 2000-2500 gallon pond build and I wanted to know what liner thickness you guys would go for in my situation. This pond is going to be 8x12 foot and a depth of 36-42 inches. I am going 2 feet above ground with a wooden construction that I have based off some other similar ponds I have seen online, and then 16 inches below ground. This pond is an outdoor pond in the hot sun however we most likely will be installing some sort of shade to cover it during the hot summer months where it can get 100 degrees out.

I was wondering what thickness liner you all would go with? I bought a 20 mil 15x20 pond liner, but that was when we planned on the pond being a bit smaller. I dont have anything under the liner but we dont have any rocks and its pretty gentle dirt. However we do have some slight roots.

Should I upgrade the liner before I begin putting it in or should I just go with the 20 mil I already have. This link is for the liner btw https://a.co/d/aTSB1uq Also any other tips or ideas would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

AP1

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm a newbie too, but what I will say is that I researched things quite a bit and decided that I was not comfortable with 20 mil. It costs a lot more, but 45 mil EPDM really is the standard and is what I went with (and my pond is only about 300 gallons). I'm guessing that cost is an issue (as it was for me), but perhaps ask yourself how you would feel if you did all the work to finish the pond and it then soon sprang a leak? If cost is an issue, perhaps you could downsize the pond to a point where you could afford EPDM?

I do hope that others chime in as well--again, I am a newbie.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):