Looking for a pump

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
Newbie here looking for an out of the pond pump.
I have a fellow helping me to enlarge my present pond. He told me to go on ebay and get a pump. There seems to be many to choose from and I am sure that there may be better places.
We will have 2 bottom drains and a skimmer.
Here is what he told me to get.
1 1/2 hp, about 3500 gph, 2" discharge, 110 volt.
And of course some things that I think it should have! LOL Variable speed, overheating protection, long lasting, a good value, and be energy efficient.
He said that I may be able to put it on a timer and not run it all day, as I have another submersible pump at the other end. I would be concerned about freezing issues if I did that. That is why I thought that variable speed could run slow and all day and night in the winter.
Thanks in advance for the help.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
I bought 2 lagunas for energy efficiency .I prefer 2 pumps one goes out you always have another one in the pond and they both came with a 4 year warranty

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Addy has external pumps but I really think most on here have inside the pond pumps .Less of a hassle come winter .Plus in the winter a inside the pond pump helps keep an opening in the ice or an aerator

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
Country
United States
I think that right now it is south of 2000 gallons. The new section will be MUCH deeper and add maybe a couple of thousand gallons. Right now I have an Alita AUP250 which pumps around 4200 gph. The pond has always been crystal clear with no problems. It is about 11 years old.
His plan is to put in 2 bottom drains and a skimmer box in the new section, all feeding into a barrel with filter material. There will be a discharge pipe in the water. I have all of the noise that I need.