Looking for Clay Soil

Reaction score
Country
United States
I need to replant a couple of my pond plants. It is my understanding that soil for aquatic plants should be clay based to help prevent dissolving and muddying the water.

Is there a brand / type of soil that I should look for online, at the nursery, or a hardware store garden center? My searching Amazon revealed only clay pellets, not soil. I couldn't find any soil that listed itself as clay based on the Lowe's website.

Any help appreciated.

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I use only pure clay kitty litter, from walmart. Special kitty.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I use only pure clay kitty litter, from walmart. Special kitty.

So you use clay kitty litter in lieu of actual soil? I'm new to all this, so forgive my lack of knowledge. Does that dissolve into a clay pack or does it remain in chunks? Safe for fish? Any particular type or brand?

THANK YOU.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
A lot of us use the economical pure clay kitty litter. Non scented pure, no additives.

We use the cheapo Kitty Diggins in the blue and green bag, ingredients: Fullers Earth.

When using it, it may temporarily cloud the water. No worries, it will be clear by the next day.

The clay is actually good for the fish.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6a
So you use clay kitty litter in lieu of actual soil? I'm new to all this, so forgive my lack of knowledge. Does that dissolve into a clay pack or does it remain in chunks? Safe for fish? Any particular type or brand?

THANK YOU.
Yes, two brands I know of: Special Kitty or Kitty Diggins.
You can use it exclusively. I have done it that way or sometimes I'll mix it with our clay Pennsylvania soil.

I'll top it off with rocks to help keep it all in place.