Lost my first Koi, and I don't know why.

Reaction score
I came home from work this morning to find a dead Koi:frown: It was lying on it's side at the bottom of the pond. The weird thing is that it didn't have any scales on it.:confused:

The other 12 Koi appear to be OK and are swimming and eating. The one that died looked fine yesterday. My worry is that the other Koi may have something, too, and I only have a day to figure it out. We're just coming out of winter here, and are getting ready to start putting plants in the pond. I'm thinking that, in light of finding our koi dead, I may need to put off the plants and salt the pond.

Have any of you ever found a dead fish without any scales?

Any ideas would be helpful. I'll be leaving for work (I'm a truck driver) for a couple of days, but my wife will be here when she's not at work. I'd really like to do something today, though, in case more of our koi have whatever killed the one I found dead this morning.

Thanks in advance for any ideas or suggestions.

koiguy1969

GIGGETY-GIGGETY!!
Reaction score
are you sure it wasnt a scaless koi? doitsu is a scaless breed.....that said you may want to keep watch for any signs of trouble with the rest of them...good luck.

fishin4cars

True friends just call me Larkin
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8a