Moving fish in winter

Reaction score
Hi. Newbie here. I've had my ponds about ten years. My primary pond with 4 koi and about 35 goldfish is leaking. I've barely made it through winter - I add water and two days later I've lost a foot. I'm in CT. Is it safe to catch and move the fish to the other pond in the cold weather until I can repair or replace the liner?

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
Welcome and i am just getting near done replacing my leaking liner and posted my progress in the showcase forum .It is a lot of work but better done before they start eating food and causing more problems where they are stored .It is not easy

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Country
United Kingdom
|Hello and welcombe from Plymouth in the \uk:
Your present situation cant go on so you can do one of a numbe of things ,
One is to allow the pond to drop to see how far this leak is down. leaving your fish in situ.:(
You can catch our fish and gently transfer them over to the other pond as they are .and be abl to manage them better thabn ain a straight transfer
Or better still can you catch your fish and transport them indoors to an emergancy QT pond holding them there till you have fixed your pond.
This way you have control of the situation, both fish and water temperature wise and an take care of any injury or prasite wise so that when you release them again you have that peace of mind all is well

Dave

Reaction score