New build raised formal/ ornamental pond

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7 (apparently!!)
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All, I'm a newbie pond person and I thought I'd share some pics of our slow but sure journey towards our new pond.

The internal measurements are 3.6m by 2m by 65cm deep, surrounded by an inner wall of concrete blocks currently being faced with Cornish slate ( ironically sourced from the other end of the country from where we are, but granite is just too heavy and the stones tend to be quite large). There is a 30cm deep shelf at the far end reinforced to take a rectangular cast stone trough which will have a wall spout filling it from above ( this wall also to be built of slate once the liner is in place). It is in a sheltered spot next to our glass roofed conservatory and currently gets a lot of sun, although the side nearer the house does get shaded earlier in the year when the sun is lower in the sky.

We will also construct brick shelving running about halfway down the pond on each side from the front wall. There will be space behind these to take the pipework from the pump round the bottom edge and up and round the shelf at the back end, feeding into a hole immediately next to where the trough will be in the 'waterspout' wall, being further hidden by plants. The exit pipe from the filter will come out of the same hole and feed round under the trough to the left and then into the pond in the far corner.

I am planning on using the Oase Filtoclear 13000 pressurised filter, because although I realise a gravity filter would be more efficient, I thought this would be an easier way to hide pipework, also, most importantly, because we are close to the house I don't wish to disturb neighbours next door with constant rushing water from a rigid pipe, and with a pressurised unit I understand that I can have the exit pipe slightly below the water surface. (The wall spout will have a separate feature pump I will turn off at night.)