New member from Pennsylvania

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
United States
Hello all. I'm very new to garden ponds; in fact I just finished (well, not quite) mine yesterday. It's about 400 gallons. I have no prior experience with ponds. On a whim, I decided I'd build a pond on Sunday. I figured I'd post here and say hi before I start bombarding this site with a bunch of questions.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome max and have fun with your new pond .Never heard of sugar notch I am from pa originally up near Benton Berwick area and have aunt in South Williamsport Pa.Ask we enjoy it gives us something to do when we are not working on our ponds lol

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6A
Country
United States
shakaho said:
Welcome! Tell us about your pond.

Thanks. It's about 400 gallons-ish. It's shaped kind of like a figure-8 with a small waterfall at one end, powered by an 800 gph pump. I put a pot of bamboo, a pot of zebra grass, some water lettuce, some hyacinths, and some anacharis plants in. I also put twenty feeder comet goldfish in. I'll try to post pictures tomorrow. I haven't actually taken any of it yet!

sissy said:
welcome max and have fun with your new pond .Never heard of sugar notch I am from pa originally up near Benton Berwick area and have aunt in South Williamsport Pa.Ask we enjoy it gives us something to do when we are not working on our ponds lol

I never heard of Sugar Notch either until I moved here last year. It's south of Wilkes-Barre, around Nanticoke. I actually used to live in Berwick and my kids go to the Benton school district. I go to drills in Lewisburg, so I'm pretty familiar with Williamsport as well. Small world.

Well, since you enjoy questions, check out my first round of questions here. :D

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States