Newbie from NJ

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7a
Hi all :) I am new to ponds and water gardens but it has always been something that fascinates me.

Early this spring my husband and I bought my grandmom and grandpop's house. On the property there is a 1/4 acre pond that my grandpop used to keep fish in years ago. We had so many that we could go fishing in it. I also remember swimming in it as a child and even ice skating in the winter. The fish are long gone but we have a ton of bullfrogs and turtles in it right now. The pond was cleaned up this year since now we are living in this house... it looks good and i would love to have fish and some plants in it. I cannot tell you how many wheel barrels of leaves we have pulled up from the bottom since the beginning of 2012. Pretty gross.

Also, I just got an overwhelming interest of making a fish pond/water garden pond closer to the house- mainly so i can enjoy it as i look out my kitchen door. It is about 1300 to 1500 gallons and i have a waterfall (just added two days ago but still under construction) and a 4 in 1 filter/fountain on the other end of the pond. I currently have 2 small koi and 2 shubunkins in it. I may possibly add 1 or 2 more koi (I want a platinum colored one so badly).

My pond is not near finished but its getting there... today i need to go out and work on adding stone to my waterfall...basically its a basic frame and i need to hide the hose and sides/back by piling up slate.

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
PINK-FLOWER-WELCOME.gif
leet13
The big pond sounds neat w/ the turtles and frogs in it. Wonder tho if you put fish in it if the heron will come and give you problems? I like the idea of the new one you have closer to the house w/ the fish in it so you can enjoy it up close and keep an eye on any critters easier. We would love to see pix of your place and ponds :razz:

Reaction score
welcome
leet13