Newbie from PA

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to ponds, I moved to PA from the UK about 2 years ago, and the house my wife and I bought had a small pond in the front garden. After a while i decided to do something with it, so I cleaned it out , found a pup in the bottom of the pond that worked and built a simple waterfall (nothing major at all) this worked well so we bought some cheap fish from Pet smart which I never expected to last, but they did and now we have some big koi in a small pond.

I am looking to build a much bigger pond around the existing one, but this is a huge step into the unknown for me, so finding this forum could be the answer to my problems, I will have a good look through all the valuable resource available and no doubt still have some questions.

But for now I just wanted to say hello, and give a brief introduction.

Thanks
jp

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
welcome and yes koi get very large and need a lot of filtering so you may want to add that to your list and probably a new pump with more gph .Big move huh

Reaction score
thanks for the welcome, I will be going from a figure 8 little pond (6ft x 3ft x 1.5ft) to 12ft x 6ft x 3ft. I have a PSK2 skimmer and matching 3600gph pump now I am looking at UV lights (in line or in the skimmer) i will be building (well attempting to build) my own waterfall with a 24in spillway, and hopefully adding a couple more fish and some plants.

sissy

sissy
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States