Newbie Here with small pond

Reaction score
Hey all, Newbie here with a question about pumps. I am currently building a small pond (I estimate around 800 gallons, its irregular shaped so hard to say for sure) but assuming it is around 800 gallons, the pond is exactly 3' deep (water will be a few inches less when filled, say 32"), I plan to use a waterfall filter so i can do a waterfall around 2-3 high, how many gph should the pump be able to handle at a 7' head height? This is the pump I was thinking of using.
http://www.bestnest.com/bestnest/RTProduct.asp?SKU=PON-02663

Thoughts? I will post pictures late tonight of current progress. I am working on this and extending my patio at the same time so it will be a few weeks before its up and running.

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
If you have the room I suggest you go with at least 1000 gallons. Smaller ponds are harder to take care of.

Head is calculated from the water surface not the pump location. 7' of head for a water fall on a 500 gallon pond would result in a pond that looked like a boiling pot.

How about we start with your goals for the pond and work from there ?

Reaction score
I am glad you said something, I would have sworn I read head height was from location of the pump...
As far as making it a thousand gallons, I have made it as big as I can, according to my wife I have made it too big already. I will take some pictures and measurements and maybe you guys can help me come up with a closer estimate to its actual capacity. As far as goals, I just want a nice looking, tropical themed pond with probably some goldfish, maybe a Koi or two if its big enough.

HTH

Howard
Reaction score
Too small for koi. Current thinking is 1000 gallons for the first and 300 to 500 for each additional and about 4 feet deep. Small ones would be OK but they grow and if you wife falls in love with them.... 2000 gallons here we come.