Overflow question

Jagsfan

Donor
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country
United States
I will be installing a pond in about a month. It will be 5'x9'x3' and will have a smaller waterfall running into it. Im new to ponds, but not new to fish keeping. I've had multiple saltwater setups over the years and am now looking to bring fish into our backyard oasis. My biggest question at the moment is about pond overflow. The pond will be surrounded on three sides by either retaining walls(2 sides) or concrete back porch(1 wall) and will have a newly laid paver patio for about 20 feet in front of it. I see some people dig one side a little lower to allow run off into a more suitable area, but i dont think that would work in my scenario as I don't want pond water running across our patio. I was considering a float switch with a pump in the pond that can be activated once it reaches the top that then turns on the pump and pumps water over the retaining wall and into a drain. So far, thats the best solution I've come up with, but would definitely love to hear other options. Thank you!

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
8b
Country
United States
Sounds like it's gonna be a great pond!

If you don't have anywhere downhill from the pond to drain to, then you gotta use a pump, like you said.

It sounds like maybe there is a suitable location on the other side of your patio and the patio is not there yet? If that's the case, why not plumb a drain line just beneath the patio before you lay the pavers.

Or you could make it a design feature by incorporating a dry creek bed that runs through your patio and carries overflow to the other side? Could be exposed in some locations and then choked down to a pipe in others with pavers over it (land bridge) so that you can cross it easily.

Lots of options!

j.w

I Love my Goldies
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
USDA 8a
Country
United States
1621892976634.gif
and welcome @Jagsfan

Jagsfan

Donor
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
6B
Country