pond estimate high?

Reaction score
Hello

Last year I, with the help of two willing kind people, built a pond about 6 x 9 and 3 deep. I want to expand the pond, install better equipment and have a very small patio installed beside it. I received an estimate from a landscaper to make the pond 20 x 13 x 3 1/2 deep + patio. The estimate came to $15000. Does this seem high to anyone else ?

nibor

Reaction score
I am a General Contractor in So. California. If you are talking demo of old pond and building a new one, equipment and concrete included it sounds right in the ballpark to me.

Rick

Reaction score
No concrete involved just liner and not really a demo of old pond but an enlargement. Still in the right ballpark you think?

Reaction score
I have a couple of questions then. Where do you live? When you say patio, what do you mean? A covered area with no hardscape?? If you are enlarging your pond that much, you must be installing new equipment- pump/filter ect. Right??? Is that included?? If not that sounds a bit high. Where I live, my guys could dig that area out in a day. I'd have the pond up and running by the next day. That would not include planting and such but plumbing and liner in place and ready with water running. I would need more info on the patio to know if the price is right.

Rick

Reaction score