Pond without liner

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am completely new to ponds so please excuse me if any of my questions are obvious.

I have a drainage pond which was dug about 8 years ago, it was 4 feet at the deepest then but is now only about a foot deep because the bottom has become filled with leaves and debris over the years. It is 15x30 feet.

1. Could I re dig this pond to be deeper and have it hold water without a liner? I live in an area which was a former gravel pit and we have clay soil.
2. Can I have goldfish in a more natural pond like this? I won’t be able to have power out there but I could use solar air pumps.
3. Can goldfish be kept with native sunfish?

For reference, I am experienced with planted aquariums and have a decent understanding of the nitrogen cycle and fish care.

Reaction score
Country
United States
Bentonite clay will hold water but it will almost never be clear water. Regular clay won't hold water - it will seep through it eventually.

As long as the water chemistry (ammonia, nitrates, nitrites, pH, hardness) are within healthy levels goldfish should do fine. You'll want filtration and a way to oxygenate the water somehow.

I don't know anything about sunfish.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
Bentonite clay will hold water but it will almost never be clear water. Regular clay won't hold water - it will seep through it eventually.
Not so. The right clay will get saturated it gets wet to a point and can absorb no more. Can it leach through more and more clay yes I supose little is truely water PROOF but true clay and the correct thickness will hold water quite well.
But the fish will constantly turn up the surface as the top layer is pure mush and the water will always be turkey. Even adding bentonite with makes for a tighter seal will not stop cloudy water.