Professional pond guys - how did you get to where you are?

Reaction score
Country
United States
I got interested in ponds after almost taking a repair job on, but I really have no experience. For you guys who do it for a living...how did you get to do it for a living. Seems like you need to know quite a bit...masonry, plants, fish, filtration, etc... I'd like to get into it, but don't have much experience with any of that. Seems like a fun thing to add to my landscaping business. I'm a solo guy and have been looking to add something like else because I'm really only doing basic maintenance, and I need to find a better moneymaker.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
GBBUDD - you beat me to it! I am not a professional AT ALL. But I learned sooooo much from watching all the TeamAquascape videos on YouTube. By watching them, you can get the basic ideas of how they work and what the philosophies are -- if it is exciting to you, you could look into a Pondemonium and find out more about the programs they have for becoming a certified Aquascape contractor. If I were younger and able to switch gears on a whim, I would do this! Pond building is so much fun!

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I'm knocking at 60 , hardly a job you want moving boulders and shovels. But that's what youth is for . One can always point and move controls in an excavator. loved building my pond .

how did your pond do with the freeze

addy1

water gardener / gold fish and shubunkins
Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Hardiness Zone
6b
Country
United States
I would never build a pond for someone else. I can deal with my mistakes, a person paying you can't.

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
I do wonder what makes the OP think there are professionals posting here... we see very few of them actually.