Protect my fish

pja

Reaction score
I am a newbie in ponds. Just build my own and put some fish there to see how they react. 1 week later, most fish are gone. I thinkits an animal. I heard of teh scarecrow but its hard because I do nto have a hose around there. I also heard of teh animal away (the one that sends sounds out). HAs anybody had any sucecss with it??

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
It would help to know what your pond is, where you are, what fish are you talking about, how big they were, day or night intruders. No one here is Psychic.

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome! Sounds like maybe your pond was not yet cycled and perhaps that is what caused the fish death.... there is a ton of information about pond cycling and what you need to do to set one up correctly. You definately need a water test kit and to learn how to use it in order know your water parameters. A water test would show for instance, if high ammonia could have killed the fish, or high nitrites, and if indeed your pond was cycled properly. Your assumption that a predator killed your fish may or may not be true and you can waste a bunch of money not having the tools and knowledge in order to make an educated guess. The forum members also need more info as Dr. Dave requested.

Reaction score
Oops, didn't correctly read the part about the fish being GONE... so maybe indeed it was a predator. How deep is your pond and did you find any evidence at all?

Reaction score
There are a number of possibilities.

If you are buying small fish, they may just be hiding. I had a small pond and 25 small goldfish had no problem hiding. As they get used to the pond and grow a bit, they hide less. Had the same thing happen with my koi.

If it is indeed an animal getting at them, there are a number of possibilities. It could be some type of a bird, wild animal, or neighbors cat. There are a few things you can do, but as stated before, a little more information would be helpful.

pja

Reaction score