Pump Size

DigdirtJen

Here Fishie Fishie Fishie! :)
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7b
Country
United States
When i bought the preformed liner for my pond, the folks at the store told me it held 300 gallons so i would need a 600 gph pump. The closest one they had to that was 700 gph so that's what they sold me. After i got all my supplies home, i did some research on all the supplies i bought (because I'm crazy that way :)). Well the liner they sold me was not 300 gallons - it's only about 120 gallons. does this mean my pump will be too strong and cause to much of a current in the water? It is hooked up to a waterfall filter.

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to pond-like things as well, but I know a lot of aquarium keepers recommend about 10X the container's size in turnover for one of the filters that hangs on the back of the tank, especially for bigger messy fish (goldfish, cichlids) and up to 40X for reefkeeping. Obviously don't know what you are planning to keep in the pond, but the gallons per hour alone shouldn't be too horrible. If it does end up being too much, you could maybe put some areas of plants in so that the water can't really have a straight shot somewhere to make a hard current?

Reaction score
Showcase(s):
Yeah, that's gonna be like a tsunami in a pond that size. By "liner" do you mean preform pond?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Some pumps have a valve of sorts that can reduce or regulate the flow of water somewhat. You might check yours?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Well I am apparently quite wrong :oops:

Since my background is in aquariums, and the flow rates are apparently quite dramatically different, what is the rationale for keeping the flow rate so low in a pond?

mrsclem

mrsclem
Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
7A
Country
United States
2 1/2 total volume per hour turnover seems to be the norm. Too much rapid water can tire out and stress the fish.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5a
Country
United States