Share filter between ponds

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Hi everyone,

I only started learning about pond 1 year ago, so I want to get some advice on my filter upgrade plan. So I have 2 ponds, one big and one small, the small one sit about 1 meter above the big one. Both ponds have some small gold fishes in there.
Pond_zpswtf5cefh.png

This is what I plan to do. Have a pump sitting at the bottom of the big pond, pumping water to the small pond above. Near the top edge of the small pond, there is a outlet for water to flow into a gravity filter, then from gravity filter flow back into the big pond. Is this plan feasible?
couple of things I am worry about:
1. will dirt built up at the bottom of the top pond? 2. will the gravity filter provide enough aeration? Any input is appreciated. Thank you!:)

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3?
Country
Canada
The small pond will become somewhat of a settling pond and hold a lot of heavy waste. I have similar in my pond though on purpose to catch solids and help my bog was the theory.

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
5B
Country
Canada
Found this idea in an article that might work well for you. Was thinking of this myself. Have the top pond with an overflow to a creek as well as the bottom drain into the overflow, the overflow would work as a skimmer for the top pond. Run a pump from the lower pond to the filter(s) and then falls or some sort of return to the top pond.
upload_2018-8-14_8-24-20.png

Reaction score
Hardiness Zone
3?
Country
Canada