Taking the leap! Or being pushed off the cliff?

Reaction score
Hi, all! My name is Taylor. I am a complete newbie when it comes to pond keeping... Heck, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to any aquatics, really!

I just "inherited," so to speak, a pond... Moved into a lovely new rental just to find out, on moving day, that there's a pond in the back yard. The company we're renting from never mentioned this, and the yard had been covered with a foot of snow until a week or so before moving day, so I'd had no clue!

By my very nature, I'm a total animal lover, especially when it comes to scaly, land-dwelling critters (reptiles, that is!). As of now, the menagerie consists of three Bearded dragons, a Corn snake, a Gopher snake, and, of course, the two family dogs. So, naturally, I have to take this opportunity and give this whole pond keeping deal a try, right? :) Besides, ponds are something that have always interested me... I've just never had the guts to give it a try, since I've always failed pretty miserably at keeping fish alive in the past.

I'm still debating whether to focus on fish, or to go for a couple turtles, of course leaning toward the latter! But that issue pales in comparison to the rest of this project... Learning how to maintain a pond in the first place, and figuring out what all will have to be done with this one come (or before?) spring!

One question for you all while I'm here: Is there any way to tell, with the pond frozen over, whether there is any filtration or pump systems present? The previous renters (or owners, whichever the case may be) didn't leave any instructions, information, or supplies that I can find, and I'm concerned that they may have pulled any filters/pumps out of the pond itself while they were at it! And, after a few years keeping reptiles, I know full well the necessities don't always come cheap! On which note, references for good DIY and otherwise inexpensive equipment would be highly appreciated!