Water imbalance

Reaction score
I have a split koi pond. One big side drains through a pipe into the bottom of the smaller side. The smaller side has a rock biofilter and a skimmer, both feed the pump that pumps back up to the waterfall to the big side.

(I'm new to this, moved into this 6 months ago)

Lately, the small side has been losing water. The big side gets higher. So, I can only assume that the pump is pumping more than transfer to the small side through the tube.

I've tried adding more rocks to the top of the waterfall, trying to create some back pressure on the pump so it doesn't pump as fast. It didn't seem to work. If I fill up both sides, the small side empties out within a couple days. Impossible to keep my pond running like this.

What else can I try?

There is a vortex forming down the tube on the big side, any problems with that? When I first moved in there was a little screen on the tube, but I took it off as it just collected algae and didn't pass enough water.

Thanks!

DrDave

Innovator
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. We generally like to see you in the introductions thread for your first post.
Where are you in So Cal? I am in Escondido.

Reaction score
Well, after reading some info from everyone's posts on this site I went out there and started closing off on a valve...not sure what is really happening, but the waterfall started getting slower. I'm hoping this will let the two sides equalize. I was down there messing with the UV lights a month ago, maybe the valve was accidentally opened a bit? Make sense to anyone? What is this valve called and what is it doing?

Reaction score
I'm in Huntington Beach. Moved in during the summer, been trying to figure this pond out ever since. I gather as much knowledge as I can from my local Koi shop, but I still don't know enough.

Reaction score
Here are some pics.

First is the complete pond (Waterfall on right, small side towards the top)