water turning green

Reaction score
The water in my 400 gal Goldfish pond has not been as clear as it used to be. Over the past few days I seen the water quality start to go down hill I thinking. This is my first year with a little front yard pond or any pond for that matter. It gets roughly 7 hours of sunlight a day before the shade sets in, in the afternoon. When I installed the pond I put a river type stone/ rock in the bottom and on the shelves of the pond. I'm not sure if that was a mistake or not. It looks like they are starting to get a green tinge on them! I also have a few larger pieces of grey lava rock that I noticed starting to get some green algae spots on them. I went to Lowe's today and got a water lily and some replacement pads for my mechanical filter. I secured the lily to a basket.....because it wouldn't sink to the bottom and then replaced the pads in the filter.

When I took the filter box out of the water and opened the box,the water was discusting looking. nasty green color. The pads were even worse. Both pads were caked up with algae, so I replaced them both. was hat a mistake as well? I didn't touch the bio balls or empty the water that was in the filter. I put the filter box and the new replacement filter's back in the water and turned the pump/ fountain back on to cycle the water. I'm in the pond already at this point so I start sifting trough the river rock and I'm kicking up all sorts of cloudy/dirty crapl. At this point I'm worried, upset and pissed all at the same time. I have no idea what to do at this point.